Photo

Shields?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

#1 earthguido

earthguido

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 February 2014 - 01:22

So I am fairly new to the game but starting to like it.  Kind of addicted now.

I am trying to build a Templar and started with an axe (or a 1h sword) and the best shield I could craft, but today I got the green-glowing 2h sword (sorry I can't remember the name - it's the one that kills the plagued), and started killing things 3-4 times faster, and not losing much more health than before.

I understand I am using a higher level weapon than before, but this takes me to the question: are shields useful? in the last mmorpg I played shields were useless and were one of the main request from players, I browsed the forums but could not gather much data.

Any opinions? should I keep faith on shields or just respec? Thanks!!!

#2 awollsd

awollsd

Veteran

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 884 posts

Posted 28 February 2014 - 02:04

many of Templars skills require a shield.. also they are very helpful for survivability in dungeons

no longer playing so feel free to ignore more (if i even post) just do still follow forums so MAY comment from time to time. 

#3 Akadria

Akadria

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Badge

Posted 28 February 2014 - 05:14

I guess you need to decide whether you want to be a Templar or a Warrior. You won't be able to keep switching between them, at least it won't be practical/efficient since you need to put your talent points in one or the other talent tree (and if you want to respec for free then you'll have to wait for 60 days). Like awol said, many Templar abilities require a shield, and Warrior abilities require a two-handed weapon. There might be some form of a possible hybrid-build but I wouldn't recommend trying this right now.

siggy2_zps0bcfeb13.png

#4 Voolf

Voolf

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 28 February 2014 - 08:41