• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Brioche

Brioche

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 325 posts

Posted 16 January 2015 - 01:52

Right now, there are two problems I face whenever I want to respec.

1. I don't know if I can trust the talent descriptions of talents I've never used before.

Let's face it, HCS doesn't test the talents. They merely wait for player feedback about bugs before they take action.

Take Chilling for example. The description used to say "Increases the damage of Blizzard by 20/40% Spell DPS", but what it actually did was increase the damage of the spell by 20/40%. (Since Blizzard does 50% Spell DPS, that was 10/20% Spell DPS.) It wasn't discovered until someone felt that the damage was rather low and actually went to test it.

There have been numerous documented bugs about talents already, and there will be more if nobody tests them. However, I'm certainly not going to spend my precious 250ep just to test something that ought to have been tested already.

2. I don't know how talents interact with each other.

If two or more talents affect an ability, are the bonuses stacked additively or multiplicatively?

Impalement increases the damage of Impale by 50% Melee DPS. Bathe in Blood increases the damage of Impale by 30%. If I have points in both, does the 30% from Bathe in Blood affect the 50% Melee DPS from Impalement, or does the 30% just affect the base 80% Melee DPS from Impale?

Depending on the results, I might decide to spend my points elsewhere.

--------------------------------------------------------------

I know that test servers have been suggested before, and I still think it's a good idea. If that's not possible, then how about creating an in-game instance and call it The Respec Room or something?

Features of this Room:

You can freely add or take away attribute and talent points.
There are dummies with varying levels of armor for testing purposes. Dummies for attacking, dummies for healing.