Photo

Linux Java Firefox Plugin?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
32 replies to this topic

#1 rmrockit

rmrockit

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 04 February 2015 - 10:57

Hi,

I am new to the game, never had a chance to play yet. I tried to, and it wouldn't work, just showed a install Java screen. Which I already have installed Java 7 from within my Software Center thing on Zorin OS 9 (a Linux distro). I looked around the net and everything suggests I install the plugin manually, and it's all a major headache, I don't understand what I'm doing and it's scary.

Is there not an easy way to get the plugin to work? The plugin doesn't exist in the browser, and everything suggests that I have to do it manually, I cannot find an easier way on my own. I am still new to Linux myself. I only recently switched from Windows 7 to Mint then from Mint to Deepin, then from Deepin to Zorin OS 9. Zorin is designed to look and function a lot like Windows 7 but with better design language. I know that it's easier on Windows, however for some odd reason when I had a friend build my gaming computer for me, he used a key that eventually became invalid for Windows 7, and when I called Microsoft about it, they said I had to buy a new one - I refused because I already spent a lot on Windows 7 before, when I gave the money to my friend to get it. I came to the conclusion he probably pocketed the money and installed a pirated copy of Windows 7 with a fake key... so, instead of getting a new copy of Windows I decided to switch to Linux.