40 replies to this topic

#1 paingwin

paingwin

Veteran

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,075 posts

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:54

Ok, first off, I am not that well known in the game. Well enough known by a few that matter to me I guess. I have been playing this game for almost 5 years, and I must say that it is one of the things in my life that keeps me sane lol. (well partially) With that being said, I have spent a good deal of my time here beating the snot out of others, for gold, for prestige, for medals, but most over-all, for FUN. PvP in this game used to keep me sitting at this damn computer for hours on end. I used to sit here for ENTIRE ladder sessions, I used to sit up for 24 hours straight bounty hunting, I used to sit here for hours on end just talking to people. Lately, not so much, as my work schedule has gotten quite hectic, but I am going to sit here tonight and put out the way I feel that PvP should be handled on this game. Not that my thread will change anything in the game, but just so that my thoughts are gathered in one place instead of all over cyberspace. The things I am going to discuss come not only from me, but from a collection of ideas from many different players in the game, both past and present. Bear with me as I knew when I sat down to type this out that it was going to be a long one.

I.) Open world PvP- The biggest issue(complaint) with open world PvP in this game is the fact that you lose experience when you lose an attack (either incoming or outgoing). Why should someone lose experience in an attack from another player? This is the first game I have played where PvP affects character level in such a way. Losing experience to creatures makes sense, it is where our character experience comes from after all. So, here are my thoughts on it.